GST State Code List and Jurisdiction Details

GST State Code List and Jurisdiction Details.

GST State Code List and Jurisdiction Details.

Under GST, states and union areas must use the GST State Code. The list of GST State Codes is in the form of numbers, such as 07 GST state code in Delhi, 19 GST code, 29 state code in Karnataka in the same way, GST state code 19 for West Bengal, 09 GST state code for Uttar Pradesh, and so on in GST number search. The government has divided the authorities into regional ones, PIN codes for different areas, and other regions to make GST registration easier for businesses and professionals.

The taxpayer must declare the authorization of the business premises when applying for GST registration. Therefore, knowing the power of control is very important for the taxpayer. There may be a spelling error in compiling the alphabetical code in GST Invoice & GST Recover data that may cause problems in processing invoices, obtaining the appropriate GST invoices through ESIC login, and completing GST returns. Yet, if the codes are minuscule and corrected, there are fewer errors in communicating with the state. Under GST, the government has provided a list of all state codes, such as the Delhi GST code and the HSN code we mentioned above.

For example: (GST Number List)

  1. Haryana’s GST state code is 06
  2. Maharashtra’s GST State Code 27
  3. Karnataka’s GST code is 29.
  4. Gujarat has 24 GST state codes.
  5. Odisha’s GST state code is 21.
  6. Tamil Nadu’s GST state code is 33.
  7. GST, Delhi State Code 07
  8. Rajasthan’s GST State Code is 8.
  9. Uttar Pradesh’s GST code is 09.
  10. West Bengal GST State Code: 19.
  11. Karnataka’s GST state code is 29.

Where do we need a state code in GST?

The GST code list (State) is needed for the following:

  • GST Identification Number (GSTIN) and
  • At the delivery zone or in identifying the “place of supply.”
  1. The Goods and Service Tax Identification Number (GSTIN) starts with the state code. For example, the first two digits are the country code in GSTIN 08AAEPM0111C1Z8, which begins with the 2 “08” digits of the Rajasthan GST code.
  2. A “delivery zone” or “place of supply” is required to determine whether IGST will be imposed or whether the seller will charge CGST and SGST. If the Supplier State Code and the “Place of Supply” country code are different, IGST will be charged, and if the Supplier State Code and the State of Supply code are the same, CGST and SGST will be charged.

For example,

  • The Supplier State code is “08”, the sales area is “09,” and IGST will be charged an invoice.
  • The Supplier State code is “08”, the supply area is also “08,” and CGST and SGST will be invoiced.

In the GST Invoice, the supply area is mentioned under the country’s supply code. The supplier and buyer code are recognised from the first two digits or numbers of its GSTIN and are addressed to billing IGST or CGST and SGST/UTGST. According to the GSTIN format, the first two digits represent the state code in which the business is registered under GST law. The state indicates where the company is located, conducts its business and thus reports in that province under the GST. Each section in India is assigned a state code to facilitate business identification. Therefore, the GST state codes, port code list and alphabet codes for the various regions are as follows.

S.No State Name Alpha Code GST State Code
1Andaman and Nicobar IslandsAN35
2Andhra PradeshAP37
3Arunachal PradeshAR12
8Dadra and Nagar HaveliDN26
9Daman and DiuDD25
14Himachal PradeshHP2
15Jammu and KashmirJK1
21Madhya PradeshMP23
28Other TerritoryOT97
33Tamil NaduTN33
36Uttar PradeshUP9
38West BengalWB19
39Foreign CountryFC96

Request For Free Sandbox Access


MasterGST - India's Best GST Billing , Invoicing & Billing Software. GSP(GST API) product from Tera Software Limited - GSP Licensed holder from GSTN